The Story is About + TIME

In My Mailbox (30)

In My Mailbox explores the contents of my mailbox on a weekly basis. Of course I only mention the really cool things, like books! If you would like to participate and have your own “In My Mailbox” post, you can find more information here. (This post was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie.)

How Do You Get All Those BOOKS!?
For Review:

Ghost Huntress: The Guidnace by Marley Gibson (ARC/Graphia/September 7, 2009)

Kendall and her ghost hunting team is the talk of Radisson, Georgia, but one person isn’t so pleased. Courtney Langdon doesn’t appreciate Kendall’s new popularity or her relationship with Jason, Courtney’s ex.

So Courtney begins dabbling in the paranormal world. At first it’s all a game to draw attention away from Kendall. But Courtney doesn’t know what she’s getting into—or what wants in her. This is one game that’s about to turn deadly serious.

And for more about Kendall and the ghost huntresses, check out www.ghosthuntress.com!

Behind Every Illusion by Christina Harner (PB/Two Trees Books/June 6, 2009)

All creatures born of human parents must be human and therefore must be ordinary. Even timid eighteen-year-old Tatiana Lewis wholeheartedly accepts this logic. So when she begins to experience unusual changes, she has no clue where to turn and instead keeps her new abilities a secret. But her best friend and brother, Isaac, sees past her illusions and together they explore the significance of her differences and search out the meaning behind them.

Amidst tragedy, unimaginable transformations and an unexpected friendship, Tatiana has to learn to reveal the girl hidden behind her illusions and what it means to face the world in order to preserve not only the forest but her very existence.

Faith, Hope, and Ivy June by Phyllis Reyonlds Naylor (HB/Delacorte/June 9, 2009)

Ivy June Mosely and Catherine Combs, two girls from different parts of Kentucky, are participating in the first seventh-grade student exchange program between their schools. The girls will stay at each other’s homes, attend school together, and record their experience in their journals. Catherine and her family have a beautiful home with plenty of space. Since Ivy June’s house is crowded, she lives with her grandparents. Her Pappaw works in the coal mines supporting four generations of kinfolk. Ivy June can’t wait until he leaves that mine forever and retires. As the girls get closer, they discover they’re more alike than different, especially when they face the terror of not knowing what’s happening to those they love most.

Love, Aubrey by Suzanne LaFleur (HB/Wendy Lamb Books/June 9, 2009)

A tragic accident has turned eleven-year-old Aubrey’s world upside down. Starting a new life all alone, Aubrey has everything she thinks she needs: SpaghettiOs and Sammy, her new pet fish. She cannot talk about what happened to her. Writing letters is the only thing that feels right to Aubrey, even if no one ever reads them.
With the aid of her loving grandmother and new friends, Aubrey learns that she is not alone, and gradually, she finds the words to express feelings that once seemed impossible to describe. The healing powers of friendship, love, and memory help Aubrey take her first steps toward the future.

Readers will care for Aubrey from page one and will watch her grow until the very end, when she has to make one of the biggest decisions of her life.
Love, Aubrey is devastating, brave, honest, funny, and hopeful, and it introduces a remarkable new writer, Suzanne LaFleur. No matter how old you are, this book is not to be missed.

For Review from Amazon Vine

Demon Princess: Reign or Shine by Michelle Rowen (ARC/Walker Books/September 29, 2009)

For Nikki Donovan, being a teenager can be hell. Literally.

As if trying to fit in at a new school and navigating the social scene isn’t enough stress for her, sixteen-year-old Nikki Donovan just found out that her long-lost father is, in fact, the demon king of the Shadowlands — the world that separates and protects ours from the Underworld. When she is brought there by the mysterious (and surprisingly cute) messenger Michael, she learns that her father is dying, and that he wants her to assume the throne. To complicate matters, a war is brewing between the Shadowlands and the Underworld, her half-demon qualities are manifesting, and her growing feelings for Michael are forbidden. Ruling a kingdom, navigating a secret crush, and still making it home by curfew — what’s a teenage demon princess to do?

OOBA is the first ever sparkling hibiscus beverage. Taste the ancient healing power of hibiscus in all three varieties: Hibiscus, Hibiscus & Lime (Pure Hibiscus extract with Key Lime Essence) and Hibiscus & Orange (Pure Hibiscus Extract with Orange Essence.), Each 16-ounce bottle is bubbling with health benefits. With every refreshing sip, OOBA's pure hibiscus extract also supports cardiovascular health by providing antioxidants and vitamin C, says founder and CEO John-David Enright, a pharmaceutical industry veteran with a passion for health. OOBA has clear advantages over other bottled beverages, a generous dose of antioxidant-rich hibiscus extract, a lean 90 calories per serving, and barely a hint of sodium (just 5mg). Made with 100% all natural ingredients (just five of them), OOBA delivers on both health and taste. The drink's bright, ruby red color is from the pure hibiscus flower extract. The exact amount, according to Enright, is part of OOBA's secret recipe, and proprietary. OOBA's sweetness comes from the perfect amount of pure cane sugar. Hibiscus is a colorful flower commonly used to make herbal tea and drinks throughout Egypt, Asia, Africa, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Central and South America, where it has long been lauded for its health properties. Hibiscus extract contains many of the same antioxidant compounds as red wine, including flavonoids, polyphenols and anthocyanins, which have been demonstrated to prevent the oxidation of LDL or bad cholesterol, and positively affect hypertension (high blood pressure). OOBA's all-natural hibiscus extract made using hibiscus Sabdariffa is hand harvested from around the world and shipped to California, where it is made into a rich, red extract. The extract is then blended with pure water, sweetened, and then gently carbonated. For more information about OOBA, please visit www.OOBAbeverage.com.

Contest Win (from Laura's Review Bookshelf)

Say the Word by Jeannine Garsee (HB/Bloomsbury/March 17, 2009)

The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, that’s what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father’s every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, it’s more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawna’s embarrassment over her mother’s other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there’s a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.

Shawna’s honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Swap Books

Eldest by Christopher Paolini
Untouchable by Kate Brian
How to Ditch Your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier

Bought

Cruel Summer by Kylie Adams
Ruler of the Realm by Herbie Brennan
Local Girls by Jenny O'Connell
The Princess and the Hound by Mette Ivie Harrison
Austenland by Shannon Hale
First Kiss (Then Tell) by Various Authors
Fangs 4 Freaks by Serena Robar
Uninvited by Justine Musk

Okay so now you know what's in mine, what did you get in yours? You can sign the Mr. Linky below, if you would, please link your actual post, so that it is easier to find! Thanks!

cult, events, GAME, in my mailbox, novel, space, and more:

In My Mailbox (30) + TIME